A letter for the husband of the stay at home mom

We were quarreling the other day about whose turn it was to change a diaper or this or the other and I realized something. You undervalue your parenting. While you are comfortable hauling all the weight of the bills, the house, the groceries, and buying the diapers you perhaps have underestimated the weight of reading one book or filling up a sippy cup.

So listen. I’m so proud of all the work you do for our family. You carry a large weight and you do so gracefully and under the perfect guidance. And this isn’t about you appreciating what I do at home where we know the weight is equally important. This is about you appreciating the little things YOU do that make a huge difference in our day.

You know the other day when you decided to change a diaper without me having to ask? If you monetized it I would have given you 100$. Do you remember when you sat next to the tub so I could go to the bathroom? I would have given you employee of the month award. Do you know that sometimes when we go out together you buckle the baby in and I get to just put myself in the car and have 1 minute and 30 seconds to breathe? That would be a great big Christmas bonus in my book. When I come out of the shower rushed, still undecided about what to wear, and the baby is changed and has shoes on, that would earn you a two week paid vacation right there. You know those times we’re sitting at the dinner table and you somehow convince the picky toddler to eat his meats? I’d hand you the keys to my company.

Don’t underestimate the parenting you did today when you came home tired from work. Be involved and if anything know that you are giving the exhausted mom a chance to breathe and a reminder that she is not alone in this big, scary ride we call parenting.

Leave a comment